CTAS – The Canadian Triage and Acuity Scale

The Canadian TRIAGE and Acuity Scale (CTAS) Course is licensed under the CTAS National Working Group (Canada) supervised by members of the Canadian Association of Emergency Physician (CAEP) and National Emergency Nurses Affiliation (NENA) of Canada. CTAS is a tool utilized by all levels of personnel in the Emergency Department to ensure the proper and quick flow of patients based on their level of emergency.

The provider course is a continuous medical educational program, intended for all healthcare providers working or planning to work in the emergency department. Re-training is advise every two years or when the guidelines are updated.

Candidates should register at least three (3) weeks before the course and receive a pre-course letter and manual. Each candidate must have their provider manual during the course.


  • Describe the historical origins and role of triage.
  • Review and enhance your patient assessment skills.
  • Apply professional standards of emergency nursing practice to triage.
  • Introduce and utilize the CEDIS Presenting Complaint List.
  • Prioritize patient care based on the Canadian Triage and Acuity Scale (CTAS).
  • Demonstrate an understanding of patient flow, care processes and communication in the Emergency Department (ED).


  • CTAS International Certificate will be emailed for successful candidates only.
  • CTAS card – to be issued for successful candidates only.